Abstract background of colorful pastel colors

Human-Centered Design Guide Series

Get Started


The Human-Centered Design (HCD) Guides are intended to enhance the understanding and practice of human-centered design throughout the federal government. In this guide series, we will explore the four phases of HCD work: discovery, design, delivery, and measurement.

You can think of the HCD Guides like a travel series through design. In the same way you can collect travel guides to Kyoto and Tokyo and Nagasaki instead of a single, lengthy all-Japan travel guide, our HCD Guide series provides two volumes for each phase of the HCD process: a concept guide, focusing on why the phase works the way it does, and an operations guide with checklists and frameworks to help with the how of the phase.

Ready to get started? Check out the guides below!

Additional Resources

If you encounter unfamiliar words or concepts in these guides, you can find definitions and explanations in the

You may also wish to review these additional research methods:

Header image credit: natrot/iStock via Getty Images