An introduction to the Digital Experience Council

A cross-agency group designed for delivering a digital-first public experience

What is the Digital Experience Council?

The Digital Experience (DX) Council was required by M-23-22, Delivering a Digital-First Public Experience, and launched in February 2024 as a subcommittee of the Federal Chief Information Officer’s Council (CIO Council). It plays a critical role in coordinating governmentwide efforts and assisting agencies in delivering digital experiences that meet the public’s needs and expectations.

The Digital Experience Council seeks to:

  • Identify opportunities and provide policy advice on how to improve the delivery of digital experiences across Federal websites and services.
  • Serve as a source of expertise on the current and future state of web and digital technologies and how they could be used by the government for delivering a digital-first public experience.
  • Assist in the governmentwide implementation of 21st Century IDEA, M-23-22, Delivering a Digital-First Public Experience, and other laws and policies.
  • Advise on and inform the direction and development of governmentwide standards and shared services related to digital experience.
  • Coordinate web and digital content and communications across agencies to prevent duplication and ensure coordinated communications during incidents of national significance (in partnership with the Department of Homeland Security and as outlined in the National Response Framework).
  • Provide a venue for digital leaders and the broader community to collaborate on best practices, lessons learned, and common approaches to digital experience challenges.
  • Sponsor on-going external collaboration with industry, state and local governments, and other external parties to identify opportunities to strengthen collaboration.

Who makes up the Digital Experience Council?

Leadership Committee

The Digital Experience Council is led by a Leadership Committee composed of two agency co-chairs and three representatives from center-of-government teams at the Office of Management and Budget (OMB) and the General Services Administration (GSA).

The current Leadership Committee is:

Agency members

The Digital Experience Council has cross-functional representation from the 24 Chief Financial Officer (CFO) Act agencies and select small agencies. CFO Act agencies may designate up to two representatives, one of which is the agency’s Digital Experience Delivery Lead, as required by Action 1. Identify digital experience delivery lead in M-23-22, Delivering a Digital-First Public Experience.

Agency members table
Agency Council Members
Agency for International Development Gregory Your Danny You
Department of Agriculture Peter Rhee Arianne Gallagher-Welcher
Department of Commerce Doug Freeman Alicia Sowah
Department of Defense Savanrith Kong Howie Cohen
Department of Education Vijay Sharma  
Department of Energy Sandra E. Logan Atiq Warraich
Department of Health and Human Services Julie Wiegandt Lindsey Ross
Department of Homeland Security Dana Chisnell Matt Harmon
Department of Housing and Urban Development Joe Carter Eileen Coleman
Department of Justice Dwayne Spriggs Ashley McGowan
Department of Labor Akanksha Sharma Laura McGinnis
Department of State Laura E. Williams Jeffrey Levy
Department of the Interior Kenneth Klinner Andy Lewandowski
Department of the Treasury Christine Durose Kelly Jerosch
Department of Transportation Pavan Pidugu Bernetta Reese
Department of Veterans Affairs Christopher Johnston Nathan Sanfilippo
Environmental Protection Agency Lin Darlington Angela Shogren
General Services Administration Jessica Marine Rachel Flagg
National Aeronautics and Space Administration Abby Bowman Jason Townsend
National Science Foundation Laura Crothers Robin Pentola
Nuclear Regulatory Commission Amy Wagner  
Office of Personnel Management Erikka Knutti Michelle Chronister
Small Business Administration Douglas Robertson  
Social Security Administration Diana Andrews Eric S. Powers

Additional members from relevant teams at OMB and GSA may also be designated as non-voting members and asked to attend Council meetings.

Please reach out to your agency’s council member with questions. If your agency is not listed, contact OMB’s Office of the Federal CIO at